Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Traditional Christmas Carols by Pete Seeger

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Pete Seeger sings Traditional Christmas CarolsSmithsonian Folkways has a great offering for the holiday season. Released in 1989, Traditional Christmas Carols by Pete Seeger is a sure hit for the banjo, folk or bluegrass fan. Long a seasonal favorite, this collection of 13 charming Christmas carols from French, English, Italian, and African American traditions captures the Christmas spirit with wonderful universality. These international holiday favorites include Twelve Gates to the City, Mary Had a Baby, and The First Noel.

"A real alternative to the wall of strings or the overly sweet sound of many Christmas collections."
 — Dirty Linen

The album is available at Smithsonian Folkways in vinyl, custom CD or digital download. Album track list includes"

  1. "Twas on a Night Like This"
  2. Mary Had a Baby"
  3. Glory to the New Born King"
  4. What Child is This?"
  5. Rise Up, Shepherd, and Follow"
  6. Carol of the Beasts"
  7. Carol of the Beasts" (Instrumental)
  8. The First Noel" Pete Seeger
  9. Behold That Star" Pete Seeger
  10. Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming"
  11. Masters in This Hall"
  12. Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming"
  13. Oh, What a Beautiful City" (Twelve Gates to the City)

This classic Christmas album blends Seeger's music style with traditional holiday carols and spirituals. If you are looking for a more traditional atmosphere and a break away from all the pop and contemporary sound, look no further.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer